June 20, 2024
“Your Contact Just Joined Snapchat” Notifications: How It Fix

How To Fix “Your Contact Just Joined Snapchat” Notifications? 3 Ways

Have you ever received a notification from Snapchat that goes something like this: “Your Contact Just Joined Snapchat”. We personally do not like random and unnecessary notifications from Snapchat and even though they might hold importance to a few many people find it annoying and wonder why Snapchat notified them when someone joined Snapchat and how to fix “Your contact just joined Snapchat” notifications on Snapchat. Well, you have landed at the right place in this article we have some easy methods for you to know how to fix “Your contact just joined Snapchat” notifications.

So, Snapchat notifies you every time one of your contacts joins Snapchat for the first time. This can be quite annoying and if you want to get rid of “Your contact just joined Snapchat” notifications you can easily do that by turning off your Snapchat friend suggestion alerts or by disabling contact syncing on Snapchat. The easiest way to stop the “Your contact just joined Snapchat” notification is to open Snapchat>settings>notifications>uncheck the “Friend Suggestion” option. For you to know more in detail about how to do that we have elaborated the step guide in the sections below.

What Are “Your Contact Just Joined Snapchat” Notifications?

How To Fix "Your Contact Just Joined Snapchat” Notifications?

Snapchat is well known for some of the most random notifications be it unviewed story notifications or your contact just joined Snapchat and to be honest they are quite annoying and many wish to get rid of it. Before you know how to get rid of “Your contact just joined Snapchat” notifications you must know what it actually means.

Well, whenever you receive a notification from Snapchat saying “Your contact just joined Snapchat” it is to notify you that the person present in your contacts has joined Snapchat. Also, note that one can only get this type of notification when they have enabled contact syncing on Snapchat. For many users such notifications are unnecessary and they feel like dismissing them permanently. So to know how to fix “Your contact just joined Snapchat” notifications we recommend you to try out the methods we have laid down for you in the section below.

How To Fix “Your Contact Just Joined Snapchat” Notifications On Snapchat?

There are 3 potential measures you can take to avoid getting the “Your contact just joined Snapchat” notifications. You can turn off the contact syncing on Snapchat or you can turn off Snapchat friend suggestions notifications/alerts from Snapchat. At the extreme, you can just simply turn off Snapchat notifications on your device. 

1. Turn Off Friend Suggestions Notification From Snapchat

You can simply turn off the friend suggestions notification on Snapchat by following the steps given below:

Step 1. Open Snapchat> Tap on the bitmoji icon at the top to open your profile page.

Step 2. Next, tap on the “Gear” icon at the top to open the “Settings” menu.

Step 3. Now tap on the “Notifications” option and “Uncheck” the “Friend Recommendations” option.

2. Turn Off Contact Syncing On Snapchat

“Your Contact Just Joined Snapchat” Notifications: How It Fix

One gets the “Your contact just joined Snapchat” notifications on Snapchat only when they have enabled contact syncing on Snapchat. That means if you disable Snapchat to have access to your phonebook they will not be able to send you such notifications. To turn off contact syncing on Snapchat follow the steps given below:

Step 1. Open Snapchat and tap on the bitmoji icon at the top to open your profile page.

Step 2. Next, tap on the “Gear” icon at the top right corner to open “Settings”.

Step 3. Tap on the “Contact Syncing” option under the “Account Action” section.

Step 4. Finally, toggle off the “Share Contacts With Snapchat” option> Next hit the “Confirm” button to disable contact sharing on Snapchat.

3. Turn Off Snapchat Notifications

“Your Contact Just Joined Snapchat” Notifications: How It Fix

If are do not like Snapchat notifications and find them annoying then you can simply turn off Snapchat notifications. We know this kind of extreme and you can miss out on major notifications of your friends on Snapchat. We recommend you take such measures only if you do not want to be bombarded with Snapchat notifications now and then. And if you are just concerned about the “Your contact just joined Snapchat” notifications then the above-given methods will certainly work in your favor. You can simply turn off Snapchat notifications from your device settings or directly from Snapchat as well. To know how to turn off Snapchat notifications follow the steps given below in sequence:

Note: Kindly keep in mind that disabling your notifications on Snapchat will restrict other essential notifications from Snapchat as well.

From Snapchat App:

Step 1. Open Snapchat on your Android or iOS device and go to your profile page.

Step 2. Next, navigate to Snapchat’s settings page>tap on the “Notifications” option.

Step 3. Now uncheck each type of notification you wish not to see manually.

From Android Devices: Open device settings>go to Apps>find and open “Snapchat”>tap on the “Notifications” option and turn it “Off”.

From iOS Devices: Open the “Settings” app>scroll and open Snapchat>hit the “Notifications” option>toggle off the “Allow Notification” option.

Why is Snapchat Sending Me Notifications That My Contact Just Joined?

Firstly the only reason you are getting the “Your contact just joined Snapchat” is because you have synced contacts from your device with Snapchat. But the real question is what is the purpose behind sending such notifications? Well, there are many potential reasons why Snapchat keeps sending you a notification whenever one of your Snapchat friends joins Snapchat. Some of them as listed below:

1. Snapchat Wants To Increase The App’s Engagement: This is because such notification alerts us that some of our know have finally joined Snapchat and we should send them requests which ultimately increases the app’s engagement level.

2. To Connect With Your Friends On Snapchat: Once you know that your near one has joined Snapchat the notification allows you to connect with them at the earliest on Snapchat and make new memories.

3. Feeling To Be A Part Of The Community: Such friend recommendations or notifications when someone from your phonebook signs up for Snapchat create a feeling of oneness with the Snapchat community. It also makes other users realize that many people consider this a safe platform and are becoming more active here.

Wrapping Up!

We hope the above-given methods are helpful for you to know how to fix “Your contact just joined Snapchat” notifications. You can either turn off contact syncing on Snapchat or just disable Snapchat to send you friend suggestion notifications. Note that disabling your overall notifications can restrict other important notifications on Snapchat as well. If you have any other queries feel free to ask them out via or comment section below.

Thank You For Reading!

Frequently Asked Questions

Q1. Does Snapchat notify friends when you log in?

No Snapchat does not notify anyone when you log into your Snapchat account on Snapchat. But one can get a notification from Snapchat when you post a story of Snapchat after a wide time gap.

Q2. What does recently joined mean on Snapchat?

The “Recently Joined” tag displayed under the username of a friend suggestion means that the particular user has recently joined Snapchat and therefore is a new Snapchat user.

Q 3. How do I stop Snapchat from sending notifications to my contacts?

In order to stop Snapchat from sending out notifications to your contacts on your phone book you need to turn off contact syncing on Snapchat. For this open Snapchat>go to profile page>settings>Contact Syncing option>turn off the “Share Contacts With Snapchat” option.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.