June 15, 2024
Did Snapchat Remove Ghost Trails

Did Snapchat Remove Ghost Trails? Here’s Fully Explained

Snapchat users are very fascinated with some of the exclusive features of Snapchat plus, the paid version of Snapchat. It has many unique features and one such feature is the ghost trail on Snapchat. But many users cannot access this feature and wonder if Snapchat removed ghost trails. In this article we will clear the haze around the question did Snapchat remove ghost trails. Snapchat plus users have access to many exclusive features. These include My AI, the Customisable capture and record button, and not to forget the ghost trail feature on Snapchat.

Many Snapchat plus users cannot see ghost trails and wonder did Snapchat remove ghost trails or not. Well, the answer to this is yes! Unfortunately, the ghost trail feature on Snapchat has been discontinued or removed due to the mixed reviews of users and for sake of their privacy and protection. If you are still confused about why did Snapchat remove ghost trails we’ve got your back. Read the section below to know did Snapchat remove ghost trails or not.

Did Snapchat Remove Ghost Trails?

Recently many false rumors have been floating around regarding Snapchat be it for removing snap scores or Snapchat streaks. With such rumors, many people want to confirm the news regarding the removal of ghost trails on Snapchat and wonder did Snapchat remove ghost trails or not.

Well, the answer to this is yes! Unfortunately team Snapchat has removed the ghost trails feature from Snapchat and it was officially announced and confirmed by Snapchat via a tweet reply. As the ghost trail has been removed it has been replaced by Snapchat’s live location feature. You can still share your live location on Snapchat freely and you can also control who can see your live location on Snapchat as well.

To quote it in Snapchat’s words it confirmed the removal of ghost trails from Snapchat plus by saying, “Ghost Trails is no longer available as we roll out live location sharing to Snapchatters everywhere. You can now share your live location, even when you’re not using Snapchat.” And by this, it is confirmatory to say that users will no longer be able to use Snapchat ghost trails.

Why did Snapchat Remove Ghost Trails?

The ghost trail feature on Snapchat was launched exclusively for Snapchat plus users on a trial basis. The feature allowed users to see the live location of their Snapchat friends as well as the path they took to reach their current location on the SnapMap. The trail is represented by a yellow line following the bitmoji on the SnapMap. And since its launch, it has received mixed reviews from users.

As per our research, there can be only one major reason why did Snapchat remove ghost trails and that is a violation or threat to users’ privacy. Snapchat removing ghost trails due to their privacy-oriented policies. The ghost trail feature was capable of exploiting users’ privacy by disclosing their live location as well as their route or path. Which is why Snapchat removed ghost trails for good.

Also, see:

End Line

We hope by now you know why did Snapchat remove ghost trails. Snapchat’s ghost trails have been removed for the sake of its user’s privacy and protection.

We hope our article was helpful enough, please leave us feedback in the comment box below and If you have any other queries you can always reach us by commenting in the comment box below. We will be happy to help!

Thank You For Reading!

Q1. How to share your live location on Snapchat?

Snapchat’s ghost trail feature have been replaced by live location feature. So to share your live location Snapchat you have to go to the chats section>tap on the bitmoji of the friend to open conversation tab>tap on “Share My Live Location”> and select how long you want to share your location.

Q2. Did Snapchat get rid of ghost trails?

Yes, Snapchat has replaced ghost trails with a live location-sharing feature on Snapchat. Snapchat Inc got rid of ghost trails on Snapchat due to privacy and security reasons.

Q3. Does Ghost mode remove you from the map?

Turning on Ghost mode on Snapchat will disable your location on the Snapchat map and your friends won’t be able to see your current location from SnapMap until you turn it on.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.